almost 3 weeks later

So it’s been 18 days since I donated my stem cells & I’ve been thinking a lot about the recipient of my stem cells and hows she’s doing. I pray that it’s a success & she isn’t encountering any nasty side effects or GVHD (Graft Versus Host Disease). Reading Steve’s wife’s blog about her husband receiving his sister’s cells has been very informative for me; I have learned so much about the other side of things. Please continue your prayers for both my recipient and Steve as well as any other recipients out there that all is successful & they’re families can hold on to them for much longer!

I felt all better & back to myself in just a few days. Had just slight bruising at the IV site for about a week & that was my only physical reminder of any of the process. I feel so blessed to have been part of something so much bigger than ourselves. I’ll keep you posted if I hear any updates on my recipient, but the NMDP told me her donor center states that they do not provide any updates. I don’t even know if she’s in this country. My rep told me she’d send correspondence to her donor center to request an update, but there is no guarantee I will hear back. That is perfectly fine with me; I’m just happy knowing I gave some one the opportunity for a longer life.

One response to “almost 3 weeks later

  1. Hey, just stopping in to say “hi!” Wondering if Steve’s Neupogen will make him have bony pain like you and Mary had, let’s just hope his engraftment gets a little (more) foward motion soon. Hoping that my daughter and I get called to donate some day soon. Take care, and thanks for the shout-out! Sue

Leave a Reply

